Author Topic: Beginner Backpacking Classes in NE Ohio  (Read 1597 times)

Offline BPO

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • BackpackOhio.com
Beginner Backpacking Classes in NE Ohio
« on: December 08, 2015, 10:19:56 PM »
I received the following email from Bill in NE Ohio. Perhaps some of you from that part of the state can direct him to a few outdoor stores or clubs offering beginner bp classes and perhaps guided trips. Post here. I'll direct him to this thread for answers. Thanks!

Hello!  I'm a resident of NE Ohio and am writing to inquire about professional guides--in particular, someone who could teach me (or me and my wife) the basics and essentials of backpacking and to guide us on a trip over a couple days or so.

I've heard that some states keep lists of professionally certified guides.  Do we have any resource here in Ohio for finding such a person?

Thank you so much for any suggestions.
I believe that there is a subtle magnetism in Nature, which, if we unconsciously yield to it, will direct us aright. ~Thoreau

Offline Scratch

• View Profile
Re: Beginner Backpacking Classes in NE Ohio
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2015, 09:45:49 AM »
I'm not sure if it is possible to find "certified" guides in Ohio, because there is so little wilderness here. Most of the certification program I know about focus on the backwoods areas where mountain skills are needed, and the possibility of getting lost are good. There isn't a spot in Ohio where you can't walk a couple miles before you hit a road.

Wilderness First Responder certification is something that you might look for from a guide who will be leading trips, but again, Ohio has no place where rescue is more than a couple of hours away, so as long as the guide knows CPR that is probably all they need beside a charged phone.