Author Topic: New to Ohio  (Read 2292 times)

Offline Andrew Grachek

• View Profile
New to Ohio
« on: February 08, 2016, 01:02:26 PM »
Hey everyone, 😀

I'm new to Ohio,  but not new to hiking/backpacking... Moved from the Durango area.

Just some quick inquiries...  I've heard that the Wildcat Hollow trail is a relatively safe hike for soloers...  That the black bear is an officiall state animal...  That there the two most worrisome things are coyotes and other weirdos who hang out in the backwoods...  And that in the Wayne NF you can camp essentially anywhere (using no trace ethics,  of course)...

Are these truths or fallacies? Anyone have any stories or specific Ohio guidelines for my safety?

Thanks,
Andrew

Offline Scratch

• View Profile
Re: New to Ohio
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2016, 06:48:58 PM »
Hey Andrew, welcome to the board.

The best way to learn about the backpacking trails here in Ohio is to read the owner of this board's info on the home page of this website.

http://www.backpackohio.com/

After you get the basic info on a trail, do a search here on the board and read what people have to say who have hiked trails recently. For instance, you will find some people who like Wildcat, others who find it too loud with road traffic and mine noise. All trails are safe for solo hikers, unless you have some medical condition that might leave you unable to hike out by yourself (an even that would not be an issue at Zaleski, it is hiked constantly).

Black bears are in this state but have never attacked anyone, and are rarely seen. Coyotes are also rarely seen (but are often heard) and are not a danger. Weirdos? There are some here on the board, but they are pretty friendly.

And yes, WNF has a "camp where you want" rule (I think they require a distance from the trailheads). All WNF trails have established campsites so there is no reason to cut your own sites out of the underbrush.

Read more of the old posts for info.